Keeping you informed

RFNSW Welcomes New Ministers in Minns Government

Feature Image Rfnsw Welcomes New Ministers In Minns Government

Peak body Road Freight NSW (RFNSW) has welcomed the appointment of Jo Haylen as Minister for Transport and John Graham as Special Minister of State and Minister for Roads in the new Minns Government.

Chief Executive Officer, Simon O’Hara, said RFNSW was extremely pleased that Labor had already delivered on several key election priorities RFNSW put forward to both major parties in the lead-up to last Saturday’s poll.

Labor announced a $1.1 billion package of road upgrades over the next three years; capped tolls for two years from 1 January, 2024 and pledged $20 million in funding for the creation of new, much-needed rest stops for truckies in and around Sydney. It also ruled-out changes to the successful PBLIS, as part of a pledge to stop further privatisation of Government assets.

“RFNSW has been advocating for major changes across the transport and roads sectors on behalf our members. We made it clear that our election priorities were aimed at supporting our hard-working truckies, as well as the wider community using the State’s roads each and every day,” Mr O’Hara said.

“Working as Shadow Ministers, Jo Haylen and John Graham listened to the concerns of RFNSW and have now acted to provide support to our freight industry. For example, the $20 million for new truck rest stops, is great news for truckies, given the lack of proper rest areas across the Greater Sydney Basin, including Port Botany and the new Western Sydney International Airport at Badgerys Creek.

“The new Government’s pledge to cap the State’s crippling tolls, will cut the average truck toll by $8, saving a driver who does two trips a day, around $3,800 a year. Its Review of the toll network and the scrapping of an estimated $50 million in administration charges, should also result in some financial relief for truckies and other toll road users. RFNSW has long argued that the State Government must incentivise truckies onto toll roads and we pleased that Labor has listened.

“Labor’s commitments for roads and transport are really positive for the freight industry and RFNSW looks forward to working with Ministers Haylen and Graham so we can keeping delivering better outcomes for our members and the community.”

“Road Freight NSW also congratulates Jenny Aitchison MP, then Shadow Minister for Regional Transport & Roads, on her re-election to the seat of Maitland and we recognise Jenny’s contribution to the industry and experience.”

Mr O’Hara said RFNSW wished to thank outgoing Minister for Regional Transport and Roads Sam Farraway and MLC Scott Farlow for their support in the previous Government.

These NSW Ministerial appointments are interim until the full NSW ministry is appointed and announced next week by the Premier, Chris Minns.

RFNSW media contact:

Richard Lenarduzzi

0411 254 390

Our Partners